Administrative Resources association (ARa) was founded on November 28, 1973 with assistance and funding from the Lilly Endowment.

ARa helps cities better compete for community and economic development resources and comply with complex federal regulations.  ARa has developed and administered more than 400 projects for over $250,000,000 involving water and sewer systems, affordable housing, senior centers, park and recreation facilities, downtown and neighborhood revitalization programs, industrial park development, and transportation systems.


ARa is a governmental association owned by the Indiana cities of Batesville, Bedford, Columbus, Greensburg, Lawrenceburg, Martinsville, North Vernon, Rushville, and Seymour. In addition, the towns of Brookville, Elizabethtown, and Nashville, as well as Henry County, are associate members of ARa.  As a governmental entity, ARa operates on a not-for-profit basis.

Non-member assisted communities or organizations (assisted at the request of a member community), include: Bartholomew County, Jackson County; Rush County; Brown County, and the Columbus Education Coalition.


The mission of ARa is to help cities plan, acquire and apply resources to improve the quality of life, the environment, and the economy of their communities. In support of this mission, ARa provides a variety of services including strategic and program planning, development of funding applications, and management of federal, state, and private grant programs.

ARa has developed, acquired funding for, and administered more federal, state, and private community development projects than any other organization in Indiana.