Community Perseverance Award

Community Perseverance Award

The D. Bruce Wallace Community Perseverance Award

In memory of founder and long-time Executive Director and Advisor, D. Bruce Wallace, ARa presents the D. Bruce Wallace Community Perseverance Award.

This award is given to a community or individual that has faced an issue or problem that was difficult, sometimes unique and even humorous at times with dedication, perseverance and a straight face (when needed).  Bruce always enjoyed helping communities with the most unusual and difficult community problems and projects and believed that’s what made government service so much fun.

Nominations can be made by member communities to ARa staff.

The nominations are based on the following:

  • Uniqueness of the issue
  • Creativeness of solution
  • Ability to hold a straight face in dealing with this issue
  • Overall humor in the handling of the situation

Past award winners include:

  • City of Mitchell/Town of Hope
  • Trena Carter
  • City of Salem
  • Brenda Sullivan (2011) – City of Columbus
  • Mayor Harold “Soup” Campbell
  • City of Bedford Stellar Communities Team
  • Debra Lilly
  • Carrie Riley
  • Eric A. Frey, II
  • Craig Luedeman